Skip to product information
1 of 1

Christy Ottaviano Books

Indigenous Ingenuity

Indigenous Ingenuity

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Sold out

1 in stock

"Celebrate National Native American Heritage Month with this beautifully designed, interactive nonfiction work about Indigenous thinkers and inventions--perfect for fans of Braiding Sweetgrass. ​

 

" Essential for kids and adults. We need this book." --Candace Fleming, award-winning author of The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh and The Family Romanov

 

Corn. Chocolate. Fishing hooks. Boats that float. Insulated double-walled construction. Recorded history and folklore. Life-saving disinfectant. Forest fire management. Our lives would be unrecognizable without these, and countless other, scientific discoveries and technological inventions from Indigenous North Americans. Spanning topics from transportation to civil engineering, hunting technologies, astronomy, brain surgery, architecture, and agriculture, Indigenous Ingenuity is a wide-ranging STEM offering that answers the call for Indigenous nonfiction by reappropriating hidden history. The book includes fun, simple activities and experiments that kids can do to better understand and enjoy the principles used by Indigenous inventors. Readers of all ages are invited to celebrate traditional North American Indigenous innovation, and to embrace the mindset of reciprocity, environmental responsibility, and the interconnectedness of all life."

 

An American Association of Geography Recommended Book
A National Education Society Read Across America Selection

A Junior Library Guild Selection
View full details